2 A.M. And I’m Still Awake Writing This Blog

I’ll start by saying if you get the reference that the title of this post makes, pat yourself on the back. If not I’ll tell you anyway. It’s a play off of song lyrics. Just search on Google “2 a.m. and I’m still awake”. The title’s accurate though; at least it is here in Puerto Rico, and not in New Jersey.

After sleeping for maybe four hours on Friday, I was woken up at 4:40. It was time to get up, get dressed, and go to the airport. Let me just say, this was painful, but not as painful and bad as how I feel now.

Fast-forward five hours, and I somehow, miraculously managed to take a two-hour nap on the plane. But this didn’t stop me from taking another two-hour nap at the hotel.

So here I am, at almost 3 in the morning blogging, listening to my quiet playlist on my iPod trying to calm down and drown out the sounds of Reed’s snores.

I kind of feel like I am rambling on, but I guess that’s okay. After all, it is my blog!

I mentioned before not feeling well when you aren’t home sucks. This is especially true when you’re away. I’m awake now because of the generous dose of caffeine I got from my iced tea at lunch and coke at dinner, the two naps I took, and of I course don’t feel well. I mean when do I ever feel well?

In all seriousness, I spent the entire night in the hotel room doing math homework. You know something is wrong when I am doing math homework. Especially when I do it for two hours straight.

Not feeling well sucks. I’m pretty sure that I took almost all of the different types of meds that we brought on vacation, but it seems that it’s just me, the darkness, my laptop, and my stomach ache tonight. I feel like the medicine isn’t doing it’s job, but maybe I just feel that way because I am overtired, impatient, and nervous.

If you’re wondering why I am nervous, it’s because I looked up my symptoms. Never look up how you feel on Web Md. NEVER!! Don’t bother looking up possible illness on Wikipedia either. Because those will just make you even more paranoid, and that’s probably a factor why I am still up.

But I feel helpless. There is nothing that I can do. I can’t take any more medicine. I even called my mom in the room next door, and there’s nothing that can be done.

Don’t get me wrong, I am really happy to be on a vacation with my family. We normally only go away once a year all four of us, But right now, all I want is to be tucked under my two blankets on my bed. I want to be resting my head on my five pillows, and just be in my house.

If this were to happen to anyone, it would be me. So I guess I should expect this, and in a way, it doesn’t come as a surprise, but that still doesn’t mean that this doesn’t suck.

The song “Breathe (2 AM)” has the lyrics, “2 a.m. and I’m still awake writing a song. If I get it all down on paper it’s no longer inside of me threatening the life it belongs to”. So here I am. 2 a.m. (NJ time now) and I’m still awake writing this blog. If I get it all down on paper (aka this text box) its no longer inside of me threatening the life it belongs to (aka my sanity). So maybe this helped. Maybe I just needed to get everything out of my system. I needed to vent. And there is even a chance that my stomach doesn’t hurt as much. It’s now 3 am. So my allotted time slot to write this has come to an end. Landslide just came on. Not one of the 5 billion covers, but the Fleetwood Mac version. My eyes are now heavy, and I feel the sleep coming, and maybe, just maybe, my good friend Stevie Nicks will help me fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

