Live From The Waiting Room

No matter where I am or where I am going, time is important to me. I like to leave early to get to a destination and arrive to said place early.

I’ve always liked to be early or on time. I remember always being nervous at camp when we were on a trip when we were approaching our check in time. I had to be there early. The earlier, the better.

When appointments run on time, everything is in order, and hopefully things will go smoothly. But when something runs late, everything crumbles down around as if I’m playing a game of JENGA.

One of my biggest pet peeves in when doctors appointments start late. I just don’t have the patients( get it? bad joke, I know) to wait.

So right now, I’m live from an doctors office because I’ve managed to get hurt once again. My appointment was at 3:30. I got here at 3:20. The women sitting next to me had an appointment scheduled for 2:30 and she has yet to make it to an exam room. Then she tells me that the doctor is good, but once I get to an exam room my appointment won’t begin for approximately 30 more minutes. Oh the joy!

To be fair, I know that emergencies happen and that some patients require more time to be seen. Life gets in the way and people run late all the time. But our time is worth something. And it’s clear that the young man in a wheel chair doing laps around the waiting room is with me on this.

My mom was supposed to come to this appointment. But she has to be somewhere with Reed at 5:15. By the time she would arrive here, odds are she’d have to turn around and leave. And I’m supposed to be somewhere too. Well okay, a Starbucks and or froyo date with one of my friends can happen any time, but it’s the principle.

My appointment was scheduled for 3:30. Now it’s 4. I say, I’m lucky if I get out of here by 5:30. Wish me luck.

20140619-161119-58279481.jpg

Leave a Reply

